Congratulations to the 2012 Intel PhD Fellowship Winners

PhD Fellowship Program winners announced!

Intel is pleased to contribute nearly $1M to support the best PhD students across the nation engaged in innovative areas of computing research.  The Intel PhD Fellowship Program is a highly competitive process where students are first pre-selected by their universities to apply for this fellowship. Each student that is nominated by their respective university submits a comprehensive application which is then reviewed by Intel Fellows and senior technologists. Participating academic research institutions and doctoral student candidates consider this fellowship a very prestigious award.  The recipients of this fellowship are all recognized leaders in their field and come very highly recommended by their university and/or industry partners.

The fellowship program was started in the early 90′s by Gordon Moore to recognize and honor top students for their leading edge research in areas that would benefit mankind; it was open to all fields of research. Gordon wanted to give back to those universities and communities who excelled at producing the top students. It was a way to build long lasting relationships with these universities, the professors and help create the next generation of technology leaders. The program has been supported every year for nearly 2 decades. Today’s program keeps that focus and also places an emphasis on developing students who are well aware of issues facing the computing industry. Every winning student is assigned a technical mentor at Intel who is also a leader in their field. Students are encouraged to work through their mentor and develop a deep understanding of the technical issues facing our world and to be on the forefront of solving the technical challenges that lie ahead.

This year, 18 fellowships were awarded. All of the winning students were invited to Intel in Oregon for the PhD Fellowship Forum. During this forum, the students met and heard inspiring messages from top technical leaders across the company including Limor Fix, Mario Paniccia, Ian Young, Kelin Kuhn, Brian David Johnson, and many others. They also attended a networking dinner with many of the speakers as well as other Intel Fellows, Executives and Senior Principal Engineers. Intel is very proud to announce the list of this year’s winners – Congratulations to all!!!

Comments are closed.